Mightier Than The Pen

Making The World A Bitter Place

I Don’t Know Why I Even Let the Kids Outside

with 3 comments

Six-year-old: Daddy, what’s a shidhead?

Me: What?

Six-year-old: What’s a shidhead?

Me: Um…where did you hear that?

Six-year-old: That man called me a shidhead.

Me: I…uh…it’s not a word. I couldn’t tell you what it means. Are you sure that’s what he said? Maybe he said something else. Whatever it was, it probably wasn’t very nice.

Six-year-old: He called me a shidhead. Shidhead isn’t a nice thing?

Me: It’s…it’s not anything. I told you that already.

Six-year-old: Shidhead. Shidhead. Shidhead. Shidhead.

Me: If you keep saying that, I’m going to get upset.

Six-year-old: Why?

Me: It’s not…it’s…it’s…uh, it’s annoying to hear the same thing again and again.

Nine-year-old: What did he call you? Shidhead?

Six-year-old: Yeah, shidhead. What’s a shidhead?

Nine-year-old: I dunno. Daddy, what’s a shidhead?

Me: I said already, it’s not anything.

Nine-year-old: But that man called him a shidhead.

Me: I said, stop saying that or I’ll get upset!

Six-year-old: Stop saying shidhead?

Me: Yes!

Nine-year-old: What does it mean?

Me: Nothing! It doesn’t mean anything!

Nine-year-old: It sounds not nice.

Me: So don’t say it.

Nine-year-old: I can’t say shidhead?

Me: You can say things that make sense and don’t hurt anyone’s feelings.

Nine-year-old: Shidhead will hurt someone’s feelings?

Me: I said stop saying that.

Nine-year-old: But it doesn’t mean anything. I’m just being silly.

Me: No, you’re being annoying.

Nine-year-old (To six-year-old): You’re a shidhead.

Six-year-old: You’re a shidhead.

Me: Stop it, both of you! I said stop saying that!

Six-year-old: What’s a shidhead?

Written by Thag

December 18, 2010 at 11:06 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL There’s nothing quite like the persistence of children, is there?!!

    kloppenmum

    December 19, 2010 at 3:39 am

    • Yeah, I just can’t *wait* till they’re less than satisfied with our answers to where babies come from…

      Thag

      December 19, 2010 at 7:13 am

  2. Yes, that will be fun!

    kloppenmum

    December 19, 2010 at 8:59 am


You got something to say?

